Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VIQRC 2023-2024: Full Volume

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Points scored after the end of the match


Mike Taylor
21-Nov-2023

I have a question about a conflict between the answer given in Q1697 and <SC1>. Part of the answer from the GDC stated, "Points scored during a Score Affecting violation should not be removed from the final score for an Alliance Partner that was not Disqualified." However, <SC1> a. states "Any Scoring which takes place after the Match due to Robots continuing to move will not count." My question involves three scenarios we recently saw at an event:

(1) Robot was in the process of unloading Cubes into Goal 1 at 0:00; the driver had placed the controller down and the Robot did not move. Cubes continued to fall into the Goal. It was not clear exactly how many Cubes were in the Goal before time ran out.

(2) Robot was in the process of unloading Cubes into Goal 1 at 0:00; the driver had placed the controller down and the Robot continued to lift, allowing more Cubes to rise above the top of the Goal and fall in. It was not clear exactly how many Cubes were in the Goal before time ran out.

(3) Robot was in the process of unloading Cubes into Goal 1 at 0:00; the driver had placed the controller down and the Robot then drove forward until it became Partially Parked.

What should the ruling have been in each of these circumstances, given the apparent contradiction between <SC1> and the Q&A response quoted above? Would any of these scenarios merit a DQ for egregious score-affecting violations? Should the points scored after 0:00 been counted? Should the points have been counted, but only for the alliance partner?

Answered by committee
12-Dec-2023

The December 5th Game Manual update included the following additions to rule <SC1>, which should address your question. If not, feel free to rephrase and re-submit.

Any Scoring into Goals which happens after the Match, even if Robots have stopped moving, will result in that Goal being considered “empty”. All Blocks in the Goal will receive zero points, and the Goal will not receive any points for a Uniform Bonus. The Goal will not have reached any Fill Level, therefore no Height Bonus will be awarded.

Violation Notes: A Team’s first instance of Scoring a Block after the end of the Match will be considered a Minor Violation. Subsequent Violations will be recorded as Major Violations and Disqualifications.