Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VIQRC 2023-2024: Full Volume

Usage Guidelines All Questions

SG2 Expansion from a claw swinging from front to back.



Under rule SG2 if a claw goes 180 degrees (from front to back) and makes the robot longer due to the claw's base being positioned in the back of the robot is that a violation?

Answered by committee

The 11" x 20" dimension can be thought of as a "snapshot" / "single-moment-in-time" definition. If the Robot you describe measures more than the 11" x 20" starting dimension at any time while the claw moves through its arc, it would be a Violation of rule <SG2>. To avoid penalties at events, we suggest that you slowly take the Robot through its full range of motion and check its size in as many configurations as possible before presenting it at inspection or putting it on the field for a Match.