Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

Official Q&A: VIQRC 2023-2024: Full Volume

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Is this starting legal?

Michael Li (Event Partner)

As the picture shows, when the robot starts, the part of the robot is above the block<SG1> without touch, is legal to start? img

Answered by committee

This starting position would be allowed If the Robot meets all criteria of rule <SG1>:

  1. Not contacting any Blocks, Goals or their supporting structure, Starting Pegs, or other Robots.
  2. Fit within an 11” wide x 20” long x 15” high (279mm x 508mm x 381mm) volume, as checked during inspection per <R3>.
  3. Contacting the inside and/or top face of the Field Perimeter wall that is between Goals I and II. See Figure 18.
  4. Have no motors or other mechanisms in motion or “running” until the Match begins. Pre-charging a pneumatic system (i.e., having the Pneumatic Pump running prior to the Match) is the only permitted exception to this rule.