Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VIQRC 2023-2024: Full Volume

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Handling the robot in a match or skils

Keith Kramer (Event Partner)

In G10 it states when handling a robot mid match "Any Blocks being controlled by the Robot while being handled must be removed from the Field"

Do the students remove the block from the field and then put it in Supply Zone, or just put them directly into the Supply Zone?

Answered by committee

For future reference, please include all applicable rules in your question, per the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting, specifically point 3, "Quote the applicable rule from the latest version of the manual in your question". In addition to G10, rule <SG3> states the following:

<SG3> Keep Blocks in the Field. Blocks that leave the Field during a Match may be returned to the Supply Zone by a Driver or Referee. Any Blocks which remain outside of the Field at the end of a Match will be considered “in” the Supply Zone (i.e., the Supply Zone will not be eligible to be Cleared).

“Leaving the Field” means that a Block is outside of the Field Perimeter and no longer in contact with the Field, Field Elements, other Blocks, or Robots.

If a Block must be removed during a G10 interaction, this Block would be considered "out of the Field" as soon as it is removed from the Robot, and may be immediately placed directly into the Supply Zone.