Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.
This Q&A is now read-only

Official Q&A: VIQC 2019-2020: Squared Away

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Is it legal while Programming to place cube in a specific non scored position?


Is it legal to place a cube that your robot grabbed when you handle your robot to put in the other starting position and place the cube on the top of the another cube which is in a non-Scored position. And then the robot is programmed to later knock off the cube into a scored position. Or to be able for the robot to be programed to carry two cubes stacked on top of each other. Is this legal?

RSC5 - A Team may handle their Robot as many times as desired during a Programming Skills Match. a. Upon handling the Robot, it must be immediately brought back to any legal Starting Position. (see definition below) i. Driver may reset or adjust the Robot as desired from this position, including pressing buttons on the Robot Brain or activating sensors. b. Any Game Objects being controlled by the Robot while being handled must be removed from the Robot and gently placed in a non-Scored position by the Team.

Answered by Game Design Committee

There are no rules prohibiting this, thus it is legal.