Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.
This Q&A is now read-only

Official Q&A: VIQC 2019-2020: Squared Away

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Green cube on platform also resting on a cube outside the Field

Laura Silverman (Event Partner)

If a green cube is resting on a platform, but is also supported by a cube that fell outside the playing field, would the green cube score? The cube meets all the criteria to score:

d. A Cube is Scored on a Platform if it meets the following criteria: i. The Cube is contacting the Platform (including its supporting structures). ii. The Cube is not contacting the Floor. iii. The Cube is not contacting the Field Perimeter. iv. The Cube matches the color of the Platform (i.e. is a green Cube). Note: A maximum of one (1) Cube may count for points per Platform.

Answered by Game Design Committee

Thank you for including the relevant rule in your question. When determining if a Game Object is Scored, the stated criteria in the Game Manual are the only things that should be used to make a decision. If all criteria are met, then it is should be considered Scored as applicable.

In your example, the Cube meets all of the criteria for being Scored. Therefore, it would be considered Scored.