Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.
This Q&A is now read-only

Official Q&A: VIQC 2019-2020: Squared Away

Usage Guidelines All Questions


I have seen one team in practice on Youtube place the robot in the starting area but overhang the back wall.  Is this legal?  If the robot fits the dimensions can it be repositioned to overhand the back edge?

Answered by Game Design Committee

As a reminder, please be sure to review the Q&A Usage Guidelines, specifically points 3 ("Quote the applicable rule from the latest version of the manual in your question") and 5 ("Use specific and appropriate question titles").

It looks like your question pertains to rule G4 and the Starting Position.

Rule G4 states the following, with a portion bolded for emphasis:

<G4> Pre-match setup. At the beginning of a Match, each Robot must meet the following criteria:

a. Only be contacting the Floor and/or Field Perimeter.

b. Fit within an 11” x 19” (279.4mm x 482.6mm) area, bounded by the Starting Position.

c. Be no taller than 15” from the Floor.

The Starting Position is defined as follows, with a portion bolded for emphasis:

Starting Position - The two (2) designated 11” x 19” (279mm x 482.6mm) spots on the field where Robots must start the Match. Starting Positions are bounded by the inner edges of the long black lines, outer edge of the short black line, and the inner edge of the field perimeter. See Figure 2 for more details.

Therefore, no, Robots are not permitted to start the match over the field perimeter wall.