For RSC7 "Handling Robots during a Programming Skills Match". Is the robot allowed to reset to any of the 8 starting positions regardless where the robot started at first place? In such case, team could gain strategic advantage of using this rule for programming skills only.
The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.
Starting positions in RSC7 "Handling Robots during a Programming Skills Match"
Please review the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting, specifically point 3, "Quote the applicable rule from the latest version of the manual in your question". Often, you'll find that by quoting the rule, you'll answer your own question.
RSC7 is partially quoted below, with a portion bolded for emphasis.
<RSC7> Handling Robots during a Programming Skills Match. A Team may handle their Robot as many times as desired during a Programming Skills Match.
a. Upon handling the Robot, it must be immediately brought back to any legal Starting Position.
There is no requirement in RSC7 for the Starting Position to be the same one in which they began the Match. Therefore, this would be legal.