The rule in question is G5:
G5 Expansion is limited during a Match. During the Match, Robots may not expand beyond the following restrictions: a. Horizontally, beyond an 11” x 19” (279.4mm x 482.6mm) area. b. Vertically, beyond 19” (482.6mm) high. This is the same height as the top of the teal T-shaped VEX IQ parts in the center of the Field. This expansion limit does not require that the Robot stay in the same configuration as it was when it began the Match. It simply means that, at any given moment during the Match, it should be able to fit within an 11” x 19” x 19” (279.4mm x 482.6mm x 482.6mm) rectangular prism. Robots will be tested for compliance with this rule, alongside rule R6, during inspection.
Is height always measured perpendicular to the field? Or, can the 11x19x19 rectangular prism twist with the robot if it attempts to switch its length and height?