Official Q&A: VIQC 2019-2020: Squared Away Usage Guidelines

Robot Touching Cube on Platform


Jon Kitagawa (Event Partner)
2 months ago

If a robot is touching a green cube on the platform is it still considered scored? (ex. if the robot was moved away, the cube would be unaffected).

If a robot is supporting a green cube on the platform is it still considered scored? (ex. if the robot was moved away, the cube would fall off OR the cube would swing low enough to contact the field perimeter).

A Cube is Scored on a Platform if it meets the following criteria: i. The Cube is contacting the Platform (including its supporting structures). ii. The Cube is not contacting the Floor. iii. The Cube is not contacting the Field Perimeter. iv. The Cube matches the color of the Platform (i.e. is a green Cube). Note: A maximum of one (1) Cube may count for points per Platform.

I believe both situations are considered scored.

Answered by Game Design Committee

The portion of the Game Manual that you have quoted is one of the individual conditions found underneath the definition of Scored. The full definition begins with the following:

Scored - A Game Object is Scored if it satisfies one of the following conditions, and is not touching a Robot.

The requirement for a Game Object to not be touching a Robot applies to all Scoring conditions. Therefore, neither of the situations you have listed would be considered Scored.