Official Q&A: VIQC 2019-2020: Squared Away Usage Guidelines

Programming reset while touching cube... Strategically...


David Sankey (Event Partner)
1 month ago

RSC5 A Team may handle their Robot as many times as desired during a Programming Skills Match. b. Any Game Objects being controlled by the Robot while being handled must be removed from the Robot and gently placed in a non-Scored position by the Team.

In other words, there is no rule against strategically placing the cube, it can be placed on any non-scored position by the team.

So are the following legal during a Programming Skills Match?

#1: A robot starts by turning and lifting a red cube. The team picks up the robot and cube and places the bot in the other starting position and places the cube next to its scoring zone on the other side of the field. The robot then pushes the cube in.

#2: A team is going to score the green cube on the platform and it gets off course. The team then resets the bot before it drops the cube. They reset the bot and put the cube back in its original position and give it another go.

Answered by Game Design Committee

So are the following legal during a Programming Skills Match?

#1: A robot starts by turning and lifting a red cube. The team picks up the robot and cube and places the bot in the other starting position and places the cube next to its scoring zone on the other side of the field. The robot then pushes the cube in.

#2: A team is going to score the green cube on the platform and it gets off course. The team then resets the bot before it drops the cube. They reset the bot and put the cube back in its original position and give it another go.

Yes, these are both legal within RSC5, which supersedes G17 for Programming Skills Matches. Please also see RSC5's Note, which states the following:

Note: This rule only applies to Programming Skills Matches. Driving Skills Matches are still governed by <G17>, especially for strategic violations.