Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VEXU 2021-2022: Tipping Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Clarification on Elevation and Transitive Contact


MSOE1
4 months ago

img

Within the definition of being Elevated (provided above for reference), for a. where contact is considered “transitive” through other Robots and Scoring Objects, does this apply to only number 3, or does it apply to all rulings within the definition of Elevated such as number 1?

In other words, if a Robot were to hypothetically meet the conditions of 2 and 3 (the Alliance Platform is balanced and the Robot is not contacting any other field element directly or “transitively”), and was “transitively” contacting their Alliance’s platform through a Robot or Scoring Object, would this hypothetical Robot be considered Elevated, or must it be in direct contact with the Platform to be considered Elevated?

Answered by committee

Within the definition of being Elevated (provided above for reference), for a. where contact is considered “transitive” through other Robots and Scoring Objects, does this apply to only number 3, or does it apply to all rulings within the definition of Elevated such as number 1?

The latter. "For the purposes of this definition" could also be read as, "For the purposes of the definition of Elevated". It primarily / usually would refer to point "3", but could also hypothetically refer to point "1" as well.

In other words, if a Robot were to hypothetically meet the conditions of 2 and 3 (the Alliance Platform is balanced and the Robot is not contacting any other field element directly or “transitively”), and was “transitively” contacting their Alliance’s platform through a Robot or Scoring Object, would this hypothetical Robot be considered Elevated, or must it be in direct contact with the Platform to be considered Elevated?

Yes, this hypothetical Robot would be considered Elevated.