Official Q&A: VEXU 2019-2020: Tower Takeover Usage Guidelines

Attempting to score in the non-protected goal zone


Colin Smith (Event Partner)
5 months ago

At a recent tournament, when teams were trying to score in their non-protected goal zone faced near-constant defense (bumping, etc.) before any of the cubes were released and met the definition of scored. Many teams complained that this was a violation and said that it had been called as a disqualification at previous events. We were unable to find anywhere in the rules that this was illegal. The closest two rules that were argued was that it could have constituted trapping

G15 No Trapping for more than 5 seconds

Or that it could be a violation of the second clause of SG3

"Robots may not intentionally or accidentally, directly or indirectly, perform the following actions: B Contact any Scored Cubes in either of opposing Alliance’s Goal Zones"

Neither of these arguments seemed to be valid to us, but we didn't know if there was something we were missing.

So to summarize, can you bump a robot that is in the process of scoring in the non-protected goal zone before its cubes have met the definition of scored?

Answered by Game Design Committee

can you bump a robot that is in the process of scoring in the non-protected goal zone before its cubes have met the definition of scored?

Please see these two similar Q&A's for reference:

www.robotevents.com/VRC/2019-2020/QA/288

www.robotevents.com/VRC/2019-2020/QA/296

As well as the Referee Training video that discusses Protected Zone interactions:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4nziGzN9ik

These three links all refer to the full text of SG3, so we would advise reviewing that as well, taking note of which parts refer to Goal Zones vs Protected Zones. The only parts of SG3 that refer to the non-protected Goal Zones are B and D:

<SG3> Stay away from your opponent’s protected areas. Robots may not intentionally or accidentally, directly or indirectly, perform the following actions:

B - Contact any Scored Cubes in either of opposing Alliance’s Goal Zones.

D - Contact either of the opposing Alliance’s Goal Zones or Barriers.

It is impossible to issue a blanket ruling that would cover all hypothetical robot-to-robot interactions. In most cases, if parts B and/or D have not been violated, then no violation of SG3 has occurred. You are correct that whether or not a given Cube is Scored is the key point to determining if SG3-B is being violated. Other rules, such as G14, G15, or SG6 may still apply, as they do in all robot-to-robot interactions; there is nothing special about them with regard to the hypothetical scenario being asked about here (i.e. "bumping a robot in the process of scoring").