The official VEX V5 Robotics Competition Question & Answer system has closed for this season.

Official Q&A: VEX V5 Robotics Competition 2024-2025: High Stakes

Usage Guidelines All Questions

2481: [SG6] Violations with intentionally rotating a goal


Spencer Yates
29-Jan-2025

If a robot has possession of a mobile goal and does one of the 2 following, will it be considered a major violation in <SG6>.

  1. Intentionally righting a mobile goal that is on it's side to standing straight up.
  2. Intentionally knocking a mobile goal over so that it is now on it's side.
Answered by committee
6-Feb-2025

Yes. Both intentionally righting and intentionally knocking over a Mobile Goal are intentional Robot actions that move a Mobile Goal in a preferred direction. Righting and/or knocking over a Mobile Goal, depending on the Robot design, could fall under either Plowing or Possession.

Possessing two Mobile Goals is a Violation of <SG6> under all circumstances.

Per clause B of rule <SG6>, "Plowing an additional Mobile Goal while also Possessing one is considered a Violation of this rule..."

Because you specified intent, the first Violation note for <SG6> applies and the Team should receive a Major Violation and a Disqualification for the Match:

Any egregious or clearly intentional Violation will be considered a Major Violation.