The official VEX V5 Robotics Competition Question & Answer system has closed for this season.

Official Q&A: VEX V5 Robotics Competition 2024-2025: High Stakes

Usage Guidelines All Questions

2442: claw extension


99766B
16-Jan-2025

<SG2>)

Does anyone know if a claw that extends in front of AND in back of a robot to grab and score rings is in violation of the expansion rule?

Answered by committee
23-Jan-2025

If the Robot's starting configuration doesn't have the claw fully extended in one of the directions (front or back), fully extending the claw in front and in back would violate <SG2> by expanding in multiple directions.

If the claw begins the Match fully extended in one direction (while fitting within the starting size requirements), the graphic and explanation in Q&A 2138 might help you understand how it could be legal under <SG2>. In the context of that Q&A, your Robot's claw would be simultaneously both mechanism A and B.