Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is now read-only

The Official Q and A is now closed. If you want to submit a question for the Worlds Drivers Meeting, please click here. The deadline for question submission is Friday, March 24.

Official Q&A: VRC 2022-2023: Spin Up

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Netting thrown over another robot


Is it legal to throw a net over another robot in the end game of spin-up?

Answered by committee

As long as the net is created by the Team using legal materials and deployed only during the Endgame period, this would be legal.

A net that is not manufactured by the Team, or that is made out of string that measures less than 3mm at its narrowest point (or more than 1/4" at its widest point), would not be legal. Teams should be prepared to provide documentation that proves they created the net.

If a net is deployed before the Endgame, it will likely violate rules <G12> (entanglement), <G15> (trapping), and <SG4>/<SG5> (expansion).