Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is now read-only

The Official Q and A is now closed. If you want to submit a question for the Worlds Drivers Meeting, please click here. The deadline for question submission is Friday, March 24.

Official Q&A: VRC 2022-2023: Spin Up

Usage Guidelines All Questions

G15 - When Does a Trap End?

Jess Zarchi


I had a discussion with a team at an event where they explained endgame trapping to me in a way I hadn't thought about it before. I brought this up with some others and they showed me Q&A 1178 which seemingly contradicts what G15 says about when a trap ends.

<G15> states that a trap ends after 2ft of space is created between the robots. The interpretation the team explained to me is a robot can start trapping at 14 seconds and as long as they back away for a tile and reengage during endgame, can continue the trap all the way down to 0. Because the trap officially ended after the 1 tile of space (G15a), and because new traps cannot start during endgame, the team claimed this was legal.

This is clarified to be an incorrect interpretation in Q&A 1178, where it's clarified that the 5 second cooldown still applies during endgame, seemingly contradicting G15a. The Q&A supersedes the manual, but because of the confusion this brings I wanted to bring this to your attention.

Does "End" in G15a really mean "Pause"?

Thank you for your time!

Answered by committee

Thank you for your question! The note following rule <G15> will be expanded in the scheduled 12/6 Game Manual update to reflect that any Trap that begins before the Endgame is subject to <G15a> and <G15b>.

If a Robot initiates a Trap before the Endgame and does not separate for at least two (2) feet and five (5) seconds before resuming the Trap, the count will resume as described in rule <G15b>.