Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VRC 2021-2022: Tipping Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

SG3 Is Descoring a Mobile Goal Interference


In SG3 it states that:

"Violations of this rule which do not interfere with gameplay, such as bumping into the Platform and then driving away, will result in the opposing Alliance receiving credit for one additional Elevated Robot at the end of the Match. (Alliances may still only receive points for a maximum of two Elevated Robots)."

"Violations of this rule which do interfere with gameplay, such as preventing a Platform from becoming Balanced, will result in a Disqualification, regardless of whether the interference was Match Affecting or not."

If my robot were to descore a elevated mobile goal from the opposing alliance's balanced platform, their platform stays balanced, and score the mobile goal on my own platform, would this be considered interference of gameplay or only an incidental contact? Would this also changed based on the mobile goal that is being grabbed (Like if I am grabbing my own alliance goal or a neutral goal)?

Answered by committee

The v2.2 Game Manual update included revisions to rule <SG3> which we feel address this question. We recommend reviewing the full text of <SG3>, including the “red box” clarifications, for more information. Notably, the following example was added:

Some example applications of this rule, and their intended penalties, are as follows:


• Successfully retrieving a Mobile Goal from an opponent’s Platform prior to the last 30 seconds.

॰ No violation / penalty, provided that no other rules are violated.

If this does not answer your question, please feel free to rephrase and re-submit.