Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VRC 2021-2022: Tipping Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

SG3 - Elevated Credit if Disqualified


Pete Niemann (Event Partner)
19-Nov-2021

During the last 30 seconds of a match, a robot bumps into the opposing alliance platform and then is later disqualified because of further interference with the platform. Does the opposing alliance still receive the elevated robot credit?

Violations of this rule which do not interfere with gameplay, such as bumping into the Platform and then driving away, will result in the opposing Alliance receiving credit for one additional Elevated Robot at the end of the Match. (Alliances may still only receive points for a maximum of two Elevated Robots).

Violations of this rule which do interfere with gameplay, such as preventing a Platform from becoming Balanced, will result in a Disqualification, regardless of whether the interference was Match Affecting or not.

Answered by committee

During the last 30 seconds of a match, a robot bumps into the opposing alliance platform and then is later disqualified because of further interference with the platform. Does the opposing alliance still receive the elevated robot credit?

Yes, as long as these were two completely independent infractions. That is to say, an interaction which clearly causes interference (and therefore a DQ) does not automatically also award the Elevated Robot credit.