Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VRC 2021-2022: Tipping Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

SG3A Transitive limits


NUKE
17-Nov-2021

With SG3A it states that:

"For the purposes of this rule, contact is considered “transitive” through other Robots and Scoring Objects. For example, contacting an opposing Robot who is contacting their own Platform would be considered a violation of this rule."

According to this, you can create a scenario of linking scoring objects or robots like in the images below (Image 1 and 2). The image contains 4 robots contacting each other and each end is contacting a platform. The other side contains 4 mobile goals and 6 rings contacting each other and the platforms.

img img

  1. In an event where there are many scoring elements linked together, like the 5 rings included in the chain of scoring elements, would there be a limit to how many of those are transitive?

    1a. If all Scoring Elements are not transitive, starting from Mobile Goal A to Mobile Goal D would all elements starting from the blue platform where would the transitive quality stop?

    1b. If all Robots are not transitive, starting from Robot A to Robot D would all robots starting from the blue platform where would the transitive quality stop?

    1c. If all elements and robots are transitive, would a robot who tries to climb their own platform be transitively contacting the opposing alliances platform in this scenario and awarding the other alliance an elevated robot. Image for clarification is included. (Image 3)

img

  1. If a team were applying a strategy to create a chain similar to the images, would this be in violation of another rule like G13, G14, or SG10?

(Thank you to 248A, 323V, 38141B, and 663A for letting me use their bots for the demonstration images)

Answered by committee
  1. In an event where there are many scoring elements linked together, like the 5 rings included in the chain of scoring elements, would there be a limit to how many of those are transitive?

No.

1c. If all elements and robots are transitive, would a robot who tries to climb their own platform be transitively contacting the opposing alliances platform in this scenario and awarding the other alliance an elevated robot. Image for clarification is included. (Image 3)

  1. If a team were applying a strategy to create a chain similar to the images, would this be in violation of another rule like G13, G14, or SG10?

It is impossible to issue a blanket ruling that will apply to all possible Match scenarios that have led to this (hopefully highly unlikely) scenario. This would result in one of the following possible outcomes:

  1. A violation of G14 for the Team/Alliance forcing their opponent into an SG3 infraction.
  2. A 30 point penalty per infraction per SG3 (up to 2x per Alliance).
  3. A DQ for both Alliances.

Intent, Match context, any prior warnings, etc would all play a role in the Head Referee's judgment call.