Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VRC 2021-2022: Tipping Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Using Scoring Objects to Exceed Expansion

Jess Zarchi



Robot expansion is limited once the Match begins. Per <G4>, at the beginning of a Match, each Robot must be smaller than a volume of 18” (457.2 mm) long by 18” (457.2 mm) wide by 18” (457.2mm) tall. Once the Match begins, Robots may expand, but no horizontal dimension can exceed 36” (914.4 mm) at any point during the Match. See Figure 24.

Note: This is intended to be a linear, horizontal, “point-to-point” limit, measured across an expanded Robot. It is not a 3D volume, and it does not “rotate” with the Robot.

Note 2: If a Head Referee is uncertain whether a Robot has momentarily expanded beyond this limit, they may ask the Team after the Match to replicate the Robot’s state and check for compliance using a tape measure, VRC Expanded Sizing Tool, or other linear measuring device.

Minor violations of this rule that do not affect or interfere with the Match will result in a warning. Match Affecting offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee’s discretion


Use Scoring Objects to play the game. Scoring Objects may not be used to accomplish actions that would be otherwise illegal if they were attempted by Robot mechanisms (e.g., Interfering with an opponent’s Autonomous routine per <SG4>.)

The intent of this rule is to prohibit teams from using game objects as “gloves” to loophole any rule that states “a Robot may not [do some action]”. This rule is not intended to be taken in its most extreme literal interpretation, where any interaction between a Scoring Object and a Robot needs to be scrutinized with the same intensity as if it were a Robot.

With 2 bar mobile goal lifts, teams have found they can hold the tall neutral goal so the pole is parallel to the ground and can increase the effective length of their robot. My interpretation is because of the SG10 note, this would only be illegal if it's used intentionally.

Is using a Scoring Object to increase the Robots horizontal length past 36" legal? What should a Referee look for to determine if an action violates <SG2> through <SG10>?

Thank you for your time!

Answered by committee

Is using a Scoring Object to increase the Robots horizontal length past 36" legal? What should a Referee look for to determine if an action violates <SG2> through <SG10>?

Holding a Scoring Object such that the horizontal length of Robot + Scoring Object exceeds 36" is not, by itself, illegal. In the strictest interpretation of SG2 + SG10, it could be considered a "minor violation of this rule that does not affect or interfere with the Match".

However, you are correct that it is riding the edge of a very slippery slope. This scenario could escalate if the Scoring Object was used to accomplish an action that would be otherwise illegal if attempted by a greater-than-36" Robot mechanism. Examples could include, but are not limited to:

  • Defending or Trapping an opponent
  • Hoarding
  • Manipulating a Platform

At this point, the standard SG2 review would be used to determine the penalty, i.e. if the violation was Match Affecting or not.