The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VRC 2021-2022: Tipping Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

882: Mobile Goal Tipped Over Scoring Question


Harry Wood (Event Partner)
12-Oct-2021

I saw this post - https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2021-2022/QA/810 but it did not answer my question. I could not find anything else relevant to my question so here it is...... (If I missed it elsewhere, I apologize).

On Page 11 of Version 2.1 manual, the following definitions are given.

Mobile Goal Base - The 7-sided plastic bottom of a Mobile Goal with a maximal diameter of 13”(330.2mm). Rings may be Scored in the “bowl” of a Mobile Goal Base for points. Both the yellow, blue, or red “upper” portion, and the black “lower” portion, are considered parts of the Mobile Goal Base. See Figure 15.

Mobile Goal Branch - The gray PVC pipes, 0.84” (21.3mm) in diameter, that extend vertically out of a Mobile Goal Base. Rings may be Scored on Mobile Goal Branches for points. See Figure 15.

Regarding if a mobile goal is scored --- in the Scoring section on page 20 of the same manual, row 3 indicates "A Mobile Goal is considered Scored in an Alliance Home Zone if, at the end of the Match, any part of the Mobile Goal Base is at least partially within the Alliance Home Zone (i.e. “breaking the plane” of the Zone)."

My question is this - what if an upright goal tips over (whether intentional or not) in a manner that the Mobile Goal Base rests in the Neutral Zone, but the Mobile Goal's Branch(es) ends up in an Alliance's Home Zone? If I were to read this correctly, then the scenario I've asked about deems the Mobile Goal NOT scored? Can you confirm? I'm not concerned about the rings, but rather whether the Branches breaking the plane of the Zone qualifies it also as scored.

Thank you!

Answered by committee

what if an upright goal tips over (whether intentional or not) in a manner that the Mobile Goal Base rests in the Neutral Zone, but the Mobile Goal's Branch(es) ends up in an Alliance's Home Zone? If I were to read this correctly, then the scenario I've asked about deems the Mobile Goal NOT scored?

This interpretation is correct.