Background:
SG3 says: Violations of this rule which do not interfere with gameplay, such as ... will result in the opposing Alliance receiving credit for one additional Elevated Robot …
The Issue:
It is clear when a SG3 violation has occurred because of the obvious contact or transitive contact of the opponent’s platform. However, the difference between a Disqualification vs. 30-point credit could be the difference between a win and a loss. There could be occasions when a team might strategically decide to incur the 30-point penalty because that action would deny the opposing alliance a chance to score 40 or more points by stopping the scoring of an elevated mobile goal or by hindering the scoring of 4+ rings on the high branch of the tall Neutral Mobile Goal.
Question:
If there is contact, or transitive contact, of the Red Platform, by a Blue Robot, who is not forced into it (no G14), in the final 30 seconds, and that contact interrupts or delays a Red Robot’s attempt to score more points, should that be a Disqualification of the Blue Robot?
Thank You.