Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VRC 2021-2022: Tipping Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

LRT - Autonomous Questions


3723A
17-Feb-2022

Dear RobotEvents,

As we near our LRT Nationals Competition in South Korea, we would like to request for some clarification on the autonomous period of the matches.

  1. Although the rings in goal bases count for zero points during LRT matches, do they count to gain an Autonomous Win Point as noted in the Game Manual?

Changelong Version 2.0 - August 31, 2021 "Updated Scoring Table 3 to clarify that Rings can be scored on or in Mobile Goals to receive credit for the Autonomous Win Point"

  1. Since we are able to "enter the opponent's Alliance Home Zone" during the Autonomous Period and "All Mobile Goals and Platforms may be considered neutral (Alliance Mobile Goals may be scored in any Zone)" in LRT, does it count to gain an Autonomous Win Point if a mobile goal is in the neutral zone with a ring in it?

Thank you in advance for your clarification. Looking forward to your reply soon.

Warmly, Michelle

Answered by committee
  1. Although the rings in goal bases count for zero points during LRT matches, do they count to gain an Autonomous Win Point as noted in the Game Manual? > Changelong Version 2.0 - August 31, 2021 "Updated Scoring Table 3 to clarify that Rings can be scored on or in Mobile Goals to receive credit for the Autonomous Win Point"

Please see this related Q&A: https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2021-2022/QA/1061

  1. Since we are able to "enter the opponent's Alliance Home Zone" during the Autonomous Period and "All Mobile Goals and Platforms may be considered neutral (Alliance Mobile Goals may be scored in any Zone)" in LRT, does it count to gain an Autonomous Win Point if a mobile goal is in the neutral zone with a ring in it?

No. The standard definition of Cleared should still be used in LRT.